An Abundance of Katherines – John Green

An Abundance of Katherines Feeling like there is a piece of you missing is something everybody will recognize I think. We all at some point in our lives, most likely in adolescence, feel incomplete. That’s just human. It probably happens every time something changes in your life you weren’t prepared for. We often search for our missing piece through our connections with others. (We are herd-animals after all.) Everyone does this, we might call it a different name, but we feel we need others to be complete.
The missing piece and trying to figure oneself out is something that resonated with me in An Abundance of Katherines. I hope this bookmark will give the next reader a sense of recognition.

I made the bookmark with a mechanical pencil, watercolour pencils and a waterbrush. It looks a bit smoother in real life, my scanner always pics up a lot of tiny detail (and scans the image a bit lighter than it is).

An Abundance of Katherines - 19 keer Katherine

My English copy of An Abundance of Katherines next to the Dutch edition from the library (19 keer Katherine, I think it would’ve been better if they’d spelled out 19, Negentien keer Katherine). If a book is written in English I prefer to read it in English, although I am always curious about how good the translation is. Translating seems to me like such an incredibly difficult profession! You have to be fluent in both languages, be a good writer, and keep true to the style and voice of the original. 19 keer Katherine is a good translation, it still feels like An Abundance of Katherines. The only things that are really different are the anagrams and that is by necessity.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “An Abundance of Katherines – John Green

  1. […] to read this English copy and then put the bookmark into the Dutch library-book. (Like I did with An Abundance of Katherines. Whose writer by the way, John Green, is on this to-read pile three […]

  2. […] just handed in The Shack and I went to look at the first book I ever did for this project, An Abundance of Katherines, which was checked out last time I was here. And I found it without it’s […]

Leave a Reply

