Pride and Prejudice and Zombies – Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith

It took me a couple of chapters to get used to the unique style of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. I’ve read the original Austen novel (and I’m a big fan of the BBC mini-series) so this re-imagining was quite different than what I’m used to. One of the things I needed to get used to was the occasional very clear sexist remarks toward women (more so then I remember from the orginal). I understand it’s written like that to highlight how ridiculous it is and to make it funny. But I had to get into that mindset first.
I instantly liked the zombies and battles though! Once I got into the rhythm of this version of the story I enjoyed it very much, and I feel that the way Elizabeth’s literal fights emphasized the confrontational scenes she has with some people in the book was very well done.
Even though the slaying of undead will never get old for me, my favourite thing about the addition of zombies was the constant reference to the zombie-problem of England the characters make. It’s a part of the way they speak because the zombies are an unfortunate reality for them. To me it reads as hilariously absurd and I enjoy that.

Pride & Prejudice & Zombies Pride & Prejudice & Zombies Pride & Prejudice & Zombies

This bookmark took me a lot of time because I did quite a few different layers which required drying time in between. I love mixing different materials, and this is most definitely mixed media. Those of you at home in the mixed media world might recognise the folksy doll-like style of Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy as similar to Suzi Blu‘s work. That’s because I learned it in her Les Petites Academy. If you like the style I highly recommend you check out her work because she’s much better at it then I am.
Because the illustrations in this library copy of the book are so beautiful (painted by Robert Parada) and realistic I needed to do something entirely different because I could never match the work already in the book. I’m quite happy with the end result, although it took me longer then I would have liked. (Again a month! But to be fair I did went on a trip for a week so that week doesn’t count in production time.)

Pride & Prejudice & Zombies
It really is an awesome looking book. It even has a ribbon, which means my bookmark is superfluous.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies – Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith

  1. […] Shack still had it’s bookmark, and both Jane Eyre and Pride and Prejudice and Zombies are currently with […]

Leave a Reply

